TRonMarketing

August 8, 2008

Are we stupid and other summer thoughts

Filed under: BRANDS,Lifestyle,Marketing — Tony @ 9:37 pm
Proust and the Squid

Proust and the Squid

First I must apologize and do my “mea culpa” … I skipped town as soon as a taste of summer touched the air- without explanation  and my readership understandably  plummeted. Go figure the writer left the building- and that is not good.  My deepest apologies but I needed to do it.

I needed to step back from the art and craft of marketing to review my place on this little blue planet of ours.

I have done a lot of thinking and I will share that over the next few weeks.  Hopefully it will make sense. One thing that has really got me bothered is close to home. I love tech and I love the reality of the web- easy search- comments and interaction- social networks and the global community. That was until I read over the summer Proust and the Squid by Maryanne Wolf.  Its a rough read and unnecessarily academic but it has a punch. Is she right is it possible we are getting stoopider?

I think she is onto something – we have become lazy and  we allow Google to think for us…..

Summer has been glorious but that is  another story.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

