TRonMarketing

April 3, 2008

HOW TO ALIENATE YOUR CUSTOMERS

Filed under: Email Marketing,Marketing — Tony @ 2:55 pm
Tags: ,

allienating-your-customers3.jpg

On April Fools Day I received an email from a pure pay online rug company. They are very successful and there is a lot to admire. What shocked me was how damaging to the company their recent email campaign was. Someone was asleep at the switch.

They had forgotten about their relationship to their clients and they had forgotten the most fundamental issues of appeal and e-mail marketing. The email stated I was the lucky winner of a rug from the company. I was excited and clicked on the email and the first message above the fold I got was April Fools. I had lost. First impressions above the fold count folks..message first.

The image below tells the story. I took a snapshot of what was above the fold on my screen. That is the absolute sweet spot. This is example of how not to email market. Make sure you get to the point quickly and do it above the fold. How many of us scroll down below the fold on the screen. Be honest – I have a 17 inch screen.   PS: Below the fold was a great offer. TO LATE

rugman-april-fool.jpg

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

